LibGuides: Hassenfeld Library: Middle School

Sources for Each Grade

Select a grade to view its specific guides and resources.

LibGuides for Middle School

General Databases for Middle School

Britannica School: Middle This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: Middle offers middle school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content about the countries of the world, the states of the USA, and the provinces of Canada.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, with reference sources, videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This collection helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data and perspectives on today's hottest social issues. Access provided by TEL.
World Book eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of World Book's e-books, especially useful for research projects in LS and MS. Access provided by TEL.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
World Book Student is World Book's encyclopedia for middle school students. Access provided by TEL.

Teacher-Recommended Resources

Ms. Fink recommends: CommonLit, a free collection of fiction and nonfiction for 5th-12th grade classrooms. Ms. Fink says, "Major publications such as NPR and Science News donate articles to CommonLit. The text are paired with additional texts, media to build background knowledge, and can be annotated."

Quick Links

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
A great tool for taking notes and creating citations for footnotes and bibliographies.

NOTE: You can now use your school Google account to log into NoodleTools! If you have previously created an account with your own username & password, then the first time you sign in with Google, you can enter your old username & password to link your old account to the new one.

Ms. Pritchard's Simplified Style Guides