13172946 Skip to Main Content

Hassenfeld Library: List of Databases

DATABASES BY DIVISION/AUDIENCE

General Databases for Lower School

Britannica School: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: Elementary offers lower school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
CultureGrams Kids This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams Kids provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content for kids about every country in the world.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
A database designed just for K-5 students, with an engaging interface and premier reference content and magazines for young readers. Access provided by TEL.
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is a curricular content hub specifically designed for K-2 students. Modules include Biographies, Science, Social Studies, Ciencia, and Estudio Sociales. Access provided by TEL.
TEL4U This link opens in a new window
Resources include TN state history, e-books, games and activities, and several safe search engines for kids to use!
World Almanac for Kids (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source.
World Book eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of World Book's e-books, especially useful for research projects in LS and MS. Access provided by TEL.
World Book Kids This link opens in a new window
World Book Kids is World Book's encyclopedia for lower school students. Access provided by TEL.

General Databases for Middle School

Britannica School: Middle This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: Middle offers middle school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content about the countries of the world, the states of the USA, and the provinces of Canada.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, with reference sources, videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This collection helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data and perspectives on today's hottest social issues. Access provided by TEL.
World Book eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of World Book's e-books, especially useful for research projects in LS and MS. Access provided by TEL.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
World Book Student is World Book's encyclopedia for middle school students. Access provided by TEL.

General/Reference Databases for High School

Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading academic journals, along with major magazines and reference sources. Access provided by TEL.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books on topics such as science, history, literature, politics, and sports. Access provided by TEL.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.
Oxford Reference (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together all of Oxford University Press’s quality reference publishing into a single cross-searchable, up-to-date resource.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
World Book Advanced is World Book's encyclopedia for high school students. Access provided by TEL.

Databases for Faculty & Staff

Curriculum Resource Center (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection includes academic journals, reports, and reference sources, focusing on educational principles, child development and psychology. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new window
This collection covers library and information science and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, and business information. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Leadership & Management This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative periodicals on topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics, continuing education, and career development. Access provided by TEL.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Databases About Arts

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTStor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. NOTE: To access from home, you must first access on campus and create a personal account.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
This collection contains hundreds of full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of 100 periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. Access provided by TEL.

Databases About Current Events

Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This collection helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data and perspectives on today's hottest social issues. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
This collection offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, including the New York Times, from 1980 to the present day. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of articles from magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues. Access provided by TEL.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 2010-present This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 2010 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.

Databases About Economics

Gale OneFile: Economics & Theory This link opens in a new window
This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Access provided by TEL.

Databases About Geography/Culture

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content about the countries of the world, the states of the USA, and the provinces of Canada.
World Geography & Culture Online (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.

Databases About Health & Wellness

Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for medical, statistical, and health information, including diseases, disorders, and diagnoses. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The scholarly journals and magazines in this collection cover topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created for students, researchers, and health professionals, this database contains current information on a complete range of healthcare topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This periodical collection gives researchers an understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Access provided by TEL.
Health Reference Center (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
ProQuest: Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Databases About History (American)

NOTE: See also "Databases About History: American (Primary Sources)" and "Databases About History: American (Newspapers)" as well as the general/reference databases.

African-American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American Indian History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of 100 periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This collection offers coverage of current thinking and events in U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, this database contains tables and charts with statistics for every facet of American life throughout history.
Salem Press (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust reference database that is particularly useful for history students. Also contains a selection of primary sources.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, with thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.

Databases About History (American): Primary Sources

NOTE: Many reference databases also include a selection of primary sources. Newspapers may also sometimes count as primary sources, depending on proximity to the event/issue at hand.

Ancestry Classroom* This link opens in a new window
Federal census records, travel & immigration records, military records, birth/marriage/death records, maps, genealogy charts, church histories and more. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents in history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more.
Fold3* This link opens in a new window
Military records, from Revolutionary War forward, including enlistments, draft cards, pension records, photos, and diaries. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
Gale Primary Sources: Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection focuses on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Access provided by TEL.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. census records, genealogy articles, records from the Revolutionary War, individuals from the Freedman's bank, and documents from the U.S. Congress. Access provided by TEL.
Slavery in America and the World (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every state and federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Databases About History (American): Newspapers

NOTE: Newspapers may count as secondary OR primary sources, depending on proximity to the event/issue at hand.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, including the New York Times, from 1980 to the present day. Access provided by TEL.
Newspapers.com* This link opens in a new window
3,500 newspapers covering the 1700s-2000s, primarily from the U.S. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851.
ProQuest: The Knoxville News Sentinel, 1887-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1887 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Memphis Commercial Appeal, 1847-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 1812 to 2009. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 2010-present This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 2010 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Israelite (1854-2000), the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), the Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-2014).

Databases About History (World)

Ancient & Medieval History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This collection's more than 400 journals cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
A definitive periodical collection for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, and social science. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
This collection provides coverage of current thinking and events in world history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Modern World History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
National Geographic Archives: Index This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search the National Geographic archives from 1888 to 2015. Most results will NOT contain the full text of the article. If you want to see an article, contact a librarian for access using our single-user digital subscription.
Salem Press (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust reference database that is particularly useful for history students. Also contains a selection of primary sources.

Databases About Literature

Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors explores the latest genre fiction, essential non-fiction and the authors behind the titles. Access provided by TEL.
Gale Literarature This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from scholarly and literary journals, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews. Access provided by TEL.

Databases About Religion

Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Users of this collection can research different religions and philosophies, and understand how they impact our daily lives. Access provided by TEL.
World Religions (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.

Databases About Science & Technology

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
This collection covers multiple viewpoints on environmental issues and policy, from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, offering information on the latest scientific developments. Access provided by TEL.
Science Online (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

Databases About World Languages

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish) (World Book) This link opens in a new window
World Book's Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the optimal beginner's Spanish-language reference tool, with World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and engaging features. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Access provided by TEL.

Quick Links

DATABASES BY ALPHABETICAL ORDER

Alphabetical List of Databases

African-American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American Indian History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Ancestry Classroom* This link opens in a new window
Federal census records, travel & immigration records, military records, birth/marriage/death records, maps, genealogy charts, church histories and more. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
Ancient & Medieval History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTStor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. NOTE: To access from home, you must first access on campus and create a personal account.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents in history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more.
Britannica School: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: Elementary offers lower school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Britannica School: Middle This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: Middle offers middle school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content about the countries of the world, the states of the USA, and the provinces of Canada.
CultureGrams Kids This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams Kids provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content for kids about every country in the world.
Curriculum Resource Center (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish) (World Book) This link opens in a new window
World Book's Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the optimal beginner's Spanish-language reference tool, with World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and engaging features. Access provided by TEL.
Fold3* This link opens in a new window
Military records, from Revolutionary War forward, including enlistments, draft cards, pension records, photos, and diaries. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading academic journals, along with major magazines and reference sources. Access provided by TEL.
Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors explores the latest genre fiction, essential non-fiction and the authors behind the titles. Access provided by TEL.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers. Access provided by TEL.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for medical, statistical, and health information, including diseases, disorders, and diagnoses. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
A database designed just for K-5 students, with an engaging interface and premier reference content and magazines for young readers. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, with reference sources, videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This collection helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data and perspectives on today's hottest social issues. Access provided by TEL.
Gale Literarature This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from scholarly and literary journals, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
This collection offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Economics & Theory This link opens in a new window
This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection includes academic journals, reports, and reference sources, focusing on educational principles, child development and psychology. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
This collection covers multiple viewpoints on environmental issues and policy, from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
This collection contains hundreds of full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The scholarly journals and magazines in this collection cover topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created for students, researchers, and health professionals, this database contains current information on a complete range of healthcare topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books on topics such as science, history, literature, politics, and sports. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new window
This collection covers library and information science and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, and business information. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Leadership & Management This link opens in a new window
Contains authoritative periodicals on topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics, continuing education, and career development. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This collection's more than 400 journals cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, including the New York Times, from 1980 to the present day. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of 100 periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of articles from magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This periodical collection gives researchers an understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Users of this collection can research different religions and philosophies, and understand how they impact our daily lives. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, offering information on the latest scientific developments. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This collection offers coverage of current thinking and events in U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
A definitive periodical collection for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, and social science. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
This collection provides coverage of current thinking and events in world history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
Gale Primary Sources: Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection focuses on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Access provided by TEL.
Health Reference Center (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. census records, genealogy articles, records from the Revolutionary War, individuals from the Freedman's bank, and documents from the U.S. Congress. Access provided by TEL.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, this database contains tables and charts with statistics for every facet of American life throughout history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.
Modern World History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
National Geographic Archives: Index This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search the National Geographic archives from 1888 to 2015. Most results will NOT contain the full text of the article. If you want to see an article, contact a librarian for access using our single-user digital subscription.
Newspapers.com* This link opens in a new window
3,500 newspapers covering the 1700s-2000s, primarily from the U.S. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851.
Oxford Reference (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together all of Oxford University Press’s quality reference publishing into a single cross-searchable, up-to-date resource.
PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is a curricular content hub specifically designed for K-2 students. Modules include Biographies, Science, Social Studies, Ciencia, and Estudio Sociales. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
ProQuest: The Knoxville News Sentinel, 1887-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1887 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Memphis Commercial Appeal, 1847-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 1812 to 2009. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 2010-present This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 2010 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Israelite (1854-2000), the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), the Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-2014).
Salem Press (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust reference database that is particularly useful for history students. Also contains a selection of primary sources.
Science Online (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
Slavery in America and the World (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every state and federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, with thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.
TEL4U This link opens in a new window
A universe of resources for kids grades K-5, provided by TEL
World Almanac for Kids (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
World Book Advanced is World Book's encyclopedia for high school students. Access provided by TEL.
World Book eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of World Book's e-books, especially useful for research projects in LS and MS. Access provided by TEL.
World Book Kids This link opens in a new window
World Book Kids is World Book's encyclopedia for lower school students. Access provided by TEL.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
World Book Student is World Book's encyclopedia for middle school students. Access provided by TEL.
World Geography & Culture Online (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
World Religions (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.