LibGuides: General History Research Help: Intro

Finding Books in our Library

Most history books in the Hassenfeld Library are on the East Mezzanine in the 900s section. Check these specific sections for more information:

909: World History
930 - 939: Ancient History

931: Ancient China
932: Ancient Egypt
934: Ancient India
935: Mesopotamia
937: Ancient Rome/Italy
938: Ancient Greece

940 - 949: European History

940.53: World War II
941-2: British Isles/UK
943: Germany
944: France
945: Italy
946: Spain
947: Russia

950 - 959: Asian & Middle Eastern History

951: China
952: Japan
954: Indian Subcontinent
956: Israel/Palestine

960 - 969: African History
970 - 979: North American History

973: United States (General)
973.7: Civil War
976.8: Tennessee

980 - 989: South American History

LibGuides About History

General/Reference Databases for High School

Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading academic journals, along with major magazines and reference sources. Access provided by TEL.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books on topics such as science, history, literature, politics, and sports. Access provided by TEL.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.
Oxford Reference (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together all of Oxford University Press’s quality reference publishing into a single cross-searchable, up-to-date resource.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
World Book Advanced is World Book's encyclopedia for high school students. Access provided by TEL.

Quick Links

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
A great tool for taking notes and creating citations for footnotes and bibliographies. You can log into NoodleTools with your school Google account.

NOTE: You can now use your school Google account to log into NoodleTools! If you have previously created an account with your own username & password, then the first time you sign in with Google, you can enter your old username & password to link your old account to the new one.

Ms. Pritchard's Simplified Style Guides