These reference databases cover topics from ancient and medieval history (database password list HERE):
Try these e-books:
Try these e-books:
Try these e-books:
The following reference books include information on ancient and medieval history:
These databases contain periodicals that cover topics from ancient and medieval history (database password list HERE):
There are two ways to search National Geographic:
The following websites provide secondary sources that cover topics from ancient and medieval history:
Ancient History - BBC
From our friends at the BBC, this is a useful resource on the topics listed there, which include Egypt, Greece, Mesopotamia, and Rome.
Ancient History Encyclopedia
This free online encyclopedia is an extensive resource for information about the classical world. Despite naming itself an "encyclopedia," it should be treated as a secondary source.
Encyclopedia Romana
Another "encyclopedia" that is really a secondary source, this site contains a large number of articles written by James Grout on ancient Rome.
MesoWeb
This is a significant resource for Mesoamerican topics, with links to scholarly blogs, articles and museum websites.
The Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures - University of Chicago
Big-league research in the Middle East. Awesome galleries and publications available here!
The following databases contain primary sources from ancient and medieval history (database password list HERE):
Try these e-books:
This list shows all the books in the Hassenfeld Library that contain primary sources from ancient and medieval history:
The following websites contain primary sources from ancient and medieval history:
The British Museum
'Nuff said. Why travel around the world when most of its best stuff is in London?
The Internet Classics Archive - MIT
A collection of 441 classic texts, mostly from Greece and Rome.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - Fordham University
An extensive collection of primary sources from a variety of ancient civilizations. You may also want to look at their Medieval History Sourcebook, East Asian Sourcebook, Indian Sourcebook, and other collections.
LacusCurtius
This site, maintained by Bill Thayer and hosted by the University of Chicago, collects the full text of over 50 works by classical Greek and Roman authors.
Mesopotamia - The British Museum
This website was put together and maintained by the good folks at the British Museum. There are lots of pictures of artifacts and a good sense of Mesopotamian history, along with a sense of its archaeology. It is subdivided into sections on Assyria, Babylonia, and Sumer.
National Museum of the American Indian
The NMAI's Collections Search allows you to look through their extensive online collection of artifacts from tribes all across the Americas.
Perseus Digital Library - Tufts University
This website has online English translations of many classical Greek and Roman authors, among other articles on Greco-Roman antiquity.
Silk Road Seattle - University of Washington
This online exhibit contains both texts and artifacts from various cultures that interacted with each other along the Silk Road.
Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Good artifact & artwork collection backed up by essays on styles and cultures.
