LibGuides: Modern World History (Haber/Parsons/Luffman): Secondary Sources

Books (Secondary Sources)

Most history books in the Hassenfeld Library are on the East Mezzanine in the 900s section. Search the library catalog or check these specific sections for more information:

909: World History
940 - 949: European History
- 940.53: World War II
- 941-2: British Isles/UK
- 943: Germany
- 944: France
- 945: Italy
- 946: Spain
- 947: Russia
950 - 959: Asian & Middle Eastern History
- 951: China
- 952: Japan
- 954: Indian Subcontinent
- 956: Israel/Palestine
960 - 969: African History
980 - 989: South American History

Websites (General)

The following websites cover topics from modern world history:

PBS.org
The website for PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) has lots of great information about all sorts of current and historical topics. Do a keyword search on your topic to find articles, videos, timelines, and more!

New York Times Archive
The New York Times' digital archive offers free access to all articles published from 1851 to 1922. Articles published from 1923 to 1980 cost $3.95 each, and articles from 1981 to the present are also free, though visitors may only access 10 per month.

New York Times: Times Topics
The Times Topics section collects information on a variety of current and historical topics. Each topic page contains a background essay, links to New York Times articles (those from 1923-1981 are behind a paywall), and links to other reputable sources chosen by NYT editors and researchers.

Databases (Secondary Sources)

The following databases cover topics from modern world history:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading academic journals, along with major magazines and reference sources. Access provided by TEL.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This collection's more than 400 journals cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
A definitive periodical collection for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, and social science. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
This collection provides coverage of current thinking and events in world history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.

Quick Links

Secondary Sources: National Geographic

There are two ways to search National Geographic:

National Geographic Archives: Index This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search the National Geographic archives from 1888 to 2015. Most results will NOT contain the full text of the article. If you want to see an article, contact a librarian for access using our single-user digital subscription.

This index contains citations for every article published in any NG magazine or other NG publication, from its very first issue up through September 2015.

Once you know the article you want, ask a librarian for help. We can access your article from the NG archives as long as we have the citation details.

Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.

This database includes the full text of all NG articles from June 1, 1999 to the current issue. National Geographic articles in this database do not include any images.

If you want a PDF of the article with images, ask a librarian for help. We can access your article from the NG archives as long as we have the citation details.