This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
The Avalon Project presents documents relevant to the fields of European history, economics, politics, and government, from ancient times to the modern era.
The British Library has digitized a large number of the items in their collection and arranged them in several themed timelines. Covering medieval times to the 21st century, this is an excellent place to look for interesting and unusual primary sources. (Adobe Flash required.)
This site has been produced from the Official Report of debates in the UK'S Parliament. It provides the full transcription of these debates from 1803 to 2005.
Europeana brings together the treasures of Europe's premier libraries, archives, museums, and galleries. Its millions of items include books, letters, diaries, maps, paintings, photographs, films, recordings, and more.
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners, offering access to over 2 million historical documents, works of art, maps, sound recordings and more.
This is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's history from 1500 to the present. It contains original German texts with English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
Google collects newspapers from around the world, with some results going back as far as the 18th century. (Remember that newspaper articles can be primary or secondary sources, depending on their distance from the subject.)
This extensive collection of primary sources is divided into three main eras (Ancient, Medieval, and Modern), as well as several special collections (African, Eastern Asian, Global, Indian, Jewish, Islamic, Lesbian/Gay, Science, and Women).
