13172946 Skip to main content

Caldecott Medal Winners: Intro

Each year, the American Library Association awards the Caldecott Medal to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

What is the Caldecott Medal?

The Caldecott Medal is awarded anually to the artist who creates the most distinguished picture book.

The award was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

Caldecott Winners (1974-2017)

Where can I find Caldecott Winners in our library?

Every Caldecott Award-winning book has a home in the collection at Hassenfeld Library.

Caldecott Award-winning books can be found outside of the Bennett Klein story room on the garden level of the library.


Caldecott Winners (1939-1973)