LibGuides: Social Studies 8: Bridge Building Project (Milon): Intro

Assignment Guidelines

If you run into any issue or have any research questions, reach out to Mrs. Brown (cbrown@usn.org).

Links to Newspaper Sources

Newspapers.com* This link opens in a new window
3,500 newspapers covering the 1700s-2000s, primarily from the U.S. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851. **Archives located in TimesMachine (listed at bottom of homepage)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Israelite (1854-2000), the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), the Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-2014).
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 1812 to 2009. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Knoxville News Sentinel, 1887-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1887 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Memphis Commercial Appeal, 1847-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.

Useful Databases

Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.
American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Media Archives

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting offers access to streaming audio and video collections of public television and radio stations from across the country. Dates of coverage run from the 1940s to present, and the archive is searchable by date, keyword, topic, geographic location, and more.
Television Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. This link will take you to the TV Archives.
Moving Image Archives
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
C-SPAN
Includes Congressional sessions, Executive Branch programs, and Supreme Court programs.

Useful Websites

U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration
The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Transportation that supports State and local governments in the design, construction, and maintenance of the Nation’s highway system and various federally and tribal owned lands.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes, organizes, and distributes historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Quick Links

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
A great tool for taking notes and creating citations for footnotes and bibliographies. You can log into NoodleTools with your school Google account.

NOTE: You can now use your school Google account to log into NoodleTools! If you have previously created an account with your own username & password, then the first time you sign in with Google, you can enter your old username & password to link your old account to the new one.

Ms. Pritchard's Simplified Style Guides