LibGuides: Social Studies 8: Research Paper (LaCroix): Secondary Sources

Periodical Databases

Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This collection's more than 400 journals cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of 100 periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of articles from magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This collection offers coverage of current thinking and events in U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
A definitive periodical collection for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, and social science. Access provided by TEL.

Current Events

Looking for more information on current/recent events? Check out the Current Events LibGuide for a range of suggested newspapers and news magazines.

Newspaper Databases

NOTE: Newspapers may count as secondary OR primary sources, depending on proximity to the event/issue at hand.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, including the New York Times, from 1980 to the present day. Access provided by TEL.
Newspapers.com* This link opens in a new window
3,500 newspapers covering the 1700s-2000s, primarily from the U.S. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851.
ProQuest: The Knoxville News Sentinel, 1887-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1887 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Memphis Commercial Appeal, 1847-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 1812 to 2009. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 2010-present This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 2010 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Israelite (1854-2000), the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), the Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-2014).

Quick Links

Websites

New York Times: Times Topics
The Times Topics section collects information on a variety of current and historical topics. Each topic page contains a background essay, links to New York Times articles (those from 1923-1981 are behind a paywall), and links to other reputable sources chosen by NYT editors and researchers.

PBS.org
The website for PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) has lots of great information about all sorts of current and historical topics. Do a keyword search on your topic to find articles, videos, timelines, and more!

Social Studies 8: Research Paper (LaCroix): Secondary Sources

Periodical Databases

Current Events

Newspaper Databases

Quick Links

Websites

Is This Website Credible?