LibGuides: American History (Luffman): Secondary Sources

Books (Secondary Sources)

Most history books in the Hassenfeld Library are on the East Mezzanine in the 900s section. Search the library catalog or check these specific sections for more information:

970 - 979: North American History
- 973: United States (General)
- 973.7: Civil War
- 976.8: Tennessee

Library Collections Online

Nashville Public Library
Explore the wonderful resources of the Nashville Public Library. Request books to your local branch, check out e-books to read on a device, and much more! Available to all Davidson County residents.
Open Library (Internet Archive)
The Open Library is a collection of more than 1.4 million digitized books available online for free.
Tennessee R.E.A.D.S.
If you are not a Davidson County resident, you can use your card from your local public library to access digital e-books and audiobooks through Tennessee R.E.A.D.S.

Databases (Secondary Sources)

Databases that cover American history:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading academic journals, along with major magazines and reference sources. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
This collection's more than 400 journals cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of 100 periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This collection offers coverage of current thinking and events in U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Access provided by TEL.
Gale OneFile: War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
A definitive periodical collection for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, and social science. Access provided by TEL.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search all of the Gale collections at once. Access provided by TEL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. JSTOR provides full-text searches of more than a thousand journals.

Quick Links

Databases About History (American): Newspapers

NOTE: Newspapers may count as secondary OR primary sources, depending on proximity to the event/issue at hand.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, including the New York Times, from 1980 to the present day. Access provided by TEL.
Newspapers.com* This link opens in a new window
3,500 newspapers covering the 1700s-2000s, primarily from the U.S. *NOT AVAILABLE OFF CAMPUS.
The New York Times, 1851-current This link opens in a new window
Faculty/staff and students in grades 8-12 may use their USN email addresses to register for a free pass giving them access to the New York Times, including current articles and archived articles dating back to their first issue in 1851.
ProQuest: The Knoxville News Sentinel, 1887-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1887 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Memphis Commercial Appeal, 1847-current This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 1812-2009 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 1812 to 2009. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest: The Tennessean, 2010-present This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages from the Tennessean from 2010 to the current issue. Access provided by TEL.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Israelite (1854-2000), the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), the Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-2014).