LibGuides: American History (Luffman): Reference Sources

Books (Reference)

Don't know where to start? Look through these reference books:

These databases cover topics from American history:

African-American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
American Indian History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers. Access provided by TEL.

Try these e-books:

Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
This collection includes reference content, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, and more, on a wide range of topics. Access provided by TEL.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, this database contains tables and charts with statistics for every facet of American life throughout history.
Salem Press (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust reference database that is particularly useful for history students. Also contains a selection of primary sources.

Try these e-books:

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, with thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790.

The Historical Statistics of the United States by Richard Sutch (Editor); Susan B. Carter (Editor); Scott Sigmund Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan L. Olmstead (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
Nearly 2,000 statistical tables cover all aspects of American life throughout history. Five volumes cover population statistics, work, economics, education, transportation, health, crime, politics, and more.