LibGuides: Modern World History (Haber/Parsons/Tan): Reference Sources

Books (Reference)

Don't know where to start? Look through these reference books:

World History

Encyclopedia of European Social History
- REF 301 STE
Encyclopedia of World History
- REF 903 STE
World Eras (multi-volume series)
- Call numbers vary

Military History

The Encyclopedia of World War II
- REF 940.53 TUC
International Encyclopedia of Military History
- REF 355 BRA
The Oxford Companion to Military History
- REF 355 HOL
World War I: A Student Encyclopedia
- REF 940.3 WOR

Philosophy, Religion, and Science

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- REF 103 BOR
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions
- REF 200.9 JUE
Science and its Times
- REF 509 SCH

Databases (Reference)

These databases cover topics from modern world history:

Britannica School: High This link opens in a new window
Britannica School: High offers high school students a gateway to the vast resources of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference ebooks aimed at the needs of students, researchers, and general readers. Access provided by TEL.

Try these e-books:

Cold War Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450
Europe 1789-1914
Europe Since 1914
History of World Trade Since 1450
Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library
Vietnam War Reference Library
World Eras series
World War II Reference Library

Modern World History (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Salem Press (e-books) This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust reference database that is particularly useful for history students. Also contains a selection of primary sources.

Try these e-books:

Great Events From History
Great Lives From History

World Religions (Facts on File/Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.

Quick Links

Using Reference Sources

Remember that reference sources give you common knowledge on a topic, typically without much detail. They are a first step in the research process, helping you to decide where to go next and creating a base of knowledge that your secondary and primary sources will build upon.

For this paper, you should not cite reference sources in your footnotes and final bibliography unless your teacher specifically instructs you to do so.